Reviews

9.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
9.2
Property location
9.1
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.6
Value
8.7

Reviews

    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    19 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    GUO
    fr

    Review score

    10
    14 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yi
    at

    Review score

    9.2
    12 September 2018

    Very nice experience!

    The tea drinking at the reception, the Taiji introduction and the Chinese style furniture are very impressive. The staff are very kind and helpful. Rooms are big and clean. The breakfast is ok, but can be better. Well, it is not cheap though...
    pt

    Review score

    9.6
    2 September 2018
    The typical Beijing Hutongs (the hotel is located at one), may seem dirty and run down by European / US standards. Tricky to get a taxi, subway is about 10 min easy walk away (you will need almost alway the subway to get in or out of the hotel), Shichahai area about 15 min walk
    Great decoration, nice rooms (the ones with windows), very good breakfast, very kind and gentle staff
    Luigi
    it

    Review score

    9.2
    2 September 2018
    The bathtub and shower drains, in our otherwise functional bedroom, did not work properly and were partially clogged. While all the staff was kind and willing to help, some looked not experienced enough. I am sure, though, it was just a matter of time.
    The room and the whole structure were very comfortable. The staff was willing to help. When we came back to Beijing on our way home, after a few days, we were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel and even to use the public (and super clean) bathroom.
    gb

    Review score

    4.2
    31 August 2018

    Not really a boutique hotel

    To begin with, staff were not helpful nor nice. There were multiple issues with the room. If not mouldy - it was loud and uncomfortable. There was serious lack of privacy as the rooms are located directly onto the common room. Unable to book taxis and difficult to find a place to eat in the area. For being a 4 star hotel it did not comply with the facilities. The classes that were promised could not be booked due to the common room being used for meetings during our stay. Additionally, we were not informed of the 3 day meetings. Also, we tried both the western and Chinese breakfast and both options were not great. Lastly, the hotel offers a car service to the airport that is 400 RMB, however, a taxi to the airport is only 100 RMB...
    The building was incredibly interesting and beautiful. The area is unique in its own way.
    gb

    Review score

    3.8
    31 August 2018

    Don’t fall for the pictures

    We had to change rooms twice because of a lack of organisation by the hotel. In our second room, we were placed in the patio but were not informed that there would be meetings in the patio with 15+ people for 3 days. This meant that to get to our room we had to go through the meeting and close every blind in our room-eliminating sources of light and privacy. The noise was also a problem and we could not make use of the only common area the hotel has. After complaining, they changed us to the basement room which was bigger but also mouldier and with less light. We found the facilities to be quite run down and not up to the level we expected through the pictures and reviews. Moreover, the breakfast was very limited and not prepared to the standards we expected. The staff were truly unhelpful and disorganised. At arrival, we were greeted by someone that laughed at us. She barely spoke much English and made it very uncomfortable. Also, every time we ordered a taxi we would have to wait around 30 minutes- which led us to miss several events we had organised. Not to mention that the location is in a hutong- which is not the safest at night and several taxi drivers refused to take us back there because of it. Not a very romantic area.
    The building was very unique and beautiful.
    Ammar
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    28 August 2018
    Not much of a variety for breakfast
    Amazing hotel, recommend it. They have shows on in the evening which are free and are really good.
    Adam D.
    ca

    Review score

    8.3
    24 August 2018

    Lovely historic boutique hotel

    It is a little out of the way. But is near the metro station.
    Gorgeous hotel in a lovely hutong. Staff were really friendly and attentive. Would stay again.
    Simone
    at

    Review score

    10
    23 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Cristina
    it

    Review score

    10
    13 August 2018
    The only thing I didn't like was that the room didn't have any windows. But it was still supper comfortable and clean.
    The staff is supper friendly. They helped us with some tips on what to visit in the city and also to book the tour to the great wall. The breakfast is nice and they give you the option to choose between western or Chinese with different dishes each day of the week. I had to chance to try both option and they were both delicious.
    oooooooooj
    pl

    Review score

    10
    1 August 2018

    Exceptional !!!! Perfect !!!!

    I couldn’t find weak points.
    Very beautiful hotel located in a quiet area. Very (extremely) kind and friendly stuff. A few guest complained about hard mattresses, but personally I prefer a hard mattress and it was not a problem for me. Breakfast was very tasty (you can choose between European and Chinese) end everyday the breakfast menu was different. The hotel and rooms look like very beautiful, traditional Chinese house. It was amazing to stay there among Chinese traditional furniture. The hotel was very clean. Everyone can join cooking class (Chinese dumplings) or tai-chi (extra charged).
    co

    Review score

    8.8
    30 July 2018
    The bed is quite hard
    Great location and beautiful building. Staff if amazing!
    Laurent
    ie

    Review score

    10
    28 July 2018
    Location was perfect, within 10-15mns walk to lake and busy district with restaurants & bars. Near metro station and easy travel to forbidden city. Family room was spacious and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff.
    Laurent
    fr

    Review score

    9.6
    26 July 2018
    nothing
    Wonderful, a local experience in a hutong. Beautifully renovated local house, nice staff. A peaceful place in a busy city!
    Danny
    be

    Review score

    10
    20 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ya
    lu

    Review score

    10
    15 July 2018
    For the Occidentals maybe they would find the beds a bit hard. The breakfast finishes at 9:30 which is a bit early if you want to enjoy a lazy morning.
    The location and the traditional cultural ambient created with sophisticated and wonderful taste. Lots of activities to do with free of charge or reasonable price.
    Kerry
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    12 July 2018

    Fabulous boutique hotel.

    Nothing.
    Great location, close to restaurants and the staff were excellent.
    Randi
    us

    Review score

    10
    17 September 2018

    Great hotel!

    Nothing!
    The staff was awesome (Kanye, Joanna, and everyone)! The hotel was super clean and in a great location. Our room was in the basement which rocked because it was dark and quiet.
    Sara
    us

    Review score

    10
    18 August 2018

    My eight year old son said this was his favorite place of our month in China.

    Might be a little hard to find for those traveling with a lot of luggage. We took the metro and the 5-10 min walk from Beihai North was no big deal (directions were very clear and accurate).
    Beautiful and interesting! Memorable experience staying in a quiet traditional neighborhood. Delicious fresh breakfast. As comfortable as a fancy western chain, but so much better. We will recommend to any friends coming to China.
Loading reviews