This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.3 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
9.3
Property location
9.1
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.7
Value
8.8
Reviews
    Yulia
    cn
    5.4
    7 December 2017
    Needs refurbishment badly. Smell... Towels, bed sheets and robes are old and smelly. More facilities needed.
    Amazing and very helpful stuff! Best stuff I have ever come across with. Very unique decor and antiques. Very good for staying one night for a change from usual 5 star hotels. Cozy and quiet courtyard. Loved the parrot in the reception area! Simple but delicious food.
    Conor
    gb
    9.6
    6 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chee Leong
    my
    7.9
    6 December 2017
    Stay here if you are fancy for an up-market Xihuyuan hotel with excellent services.
    We wish the room to be improved by better ventilation system because it is in the basement. We also hope the property can offers fairer flexibility by adjusting the prices like giving rebate for shorter period of use of the room or unconsumed facilities i.e. breakfast (for clients whom leaving at 2:00am in the morning to catch a flight but wanted to keep a room for comfort).
    The staffs are the best ones to be praised. They are just awesome.
    Kristen
    sg
    10
    29 November 2017
    It was perfect and what we had hoped for.
    Security could be improved as it got really dark and quiet outside.
    Staff were excellent, they knew us personally so it made a lot of administration easy. We got them to help us book tickets to Forbidden City and they were so helpful. They did not need to ask for our details as they knew which room we were at. They also allowed us to have breakfast 10 minutes before breakfast period ended though it might have inconvenienced them. Lastly, as we arrived at about 4 am, the hotel staff kindly helped us look after our luggage and allowed us to rest in the hotel lobby and courtyard area, and even hastened the pace of our check in process. Facilities: The mystery room was a very pleasant surprise. Very clean and big. Perfect heating system in the room as well as in the hotel. The whole hotel was clean and beautiful. Accessibility: short walk (10-15 minutes) to 2 metro stations which were well connected. made our movement around the city easy and quick. We loved this place a lot and would recommend to everyone!
    Jandru
    es
    9.6
    27 November 2017
    It’s been a wicked experience spending a couple of days sleeping in a proper chinese style!
    Lpankiw
    au
    10
    23 November 2017
    Amazing location and hotel. Close to the subway and houhai lake. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, and the rooms were just beautiful. A great choice.
    Faith Olinger
    us
    8.8
    23 November 2017
    Unique Find
    The staff seemed surprised that we were staying there. Fortunately, when our reservation did appear, they took care of us. Our room was clean, but in need of minor repair (unpainted plaster on the wall, little things in the room and restroom showed wear), though the room was spotless clean and smelled good. Still a great value for the price, but considering the care taken for the rest of the property, had to wonder about the little things in this particular basement room by the elevator. English was enough to meet our needs, but not at all conversational. Beautiful setting overall, unique find.
    Fascinating cultural experience, historical building, in a beautiful tranquil environment. I liked the exercise class, and ink painting. I most enjoyed the architecture and setting. The room was spacious and comfortable. We were in a basement room which was nicely quiet. The property was clean and decor is uniquely lovely. Everything had a place.
    Christina
    gb
    10
    19 November 2017
    Excellent - great staff and very clean
    It was very cold outside but nice and warm inside! All the amenities you’d want were available. The staff were so welcoming and helpful too. Would definitely recommend
    no
    9.2
    19 November 2017
    An oasis in the middle of Beijing
    Some sounds from other guests and staff through the walls (and alarms and doorbells), which might be an issue if you want total silence in the evening/night. But it's an old courtyard house transformed into a hotel, so you can't expect the same sound insulation and privacy as a big business hotel. It was not a problem for us, though, and we slept very good here! If I am to nitpick. Everything was super clean, but the curtains could be cleaned more often, as well as the shower curtain.
    After a long and strenuous journey to Beijing, it was like entering an oasis to come inside the small courtyard hotel, with bird chirping, a small gold fish pond (in a jar), and fruit tea. The room was amazing, with a real Chinese feel to it. The bed was excellent! The staff was extremely attentive and friendly (although getting a taxi was quite difficult at some times, but that's not the hotel's fault, it's just the transportation system in Beijing). The breakfasts were excellent, and varied every day. Although I wish the hotel had Chinese loose leaf tea in the rooms/breakfast buffet, instead of Lipton teabags. I have traveled in Japan and Taiwan before, and I was always (even in the smallest, simplest places) served really good tea at hotels and restaurants. I don't know if this applies to all of Beijing (it seemed like it), but it was a surprise. All in all, this place can really be recommended if you want to experience living in a more authentic part of Beijing than the CBD (which you should).
    William
    us
    10
    13 November 2017
    Could this be one of the best small hotels in Beijing: we think so!
    Hard to book!
    Pretty much everything!
    Freda K
    sg
    9.2
    8 November 2017
    Great experience
    It would be better if we can choose the room beforehand. I was so looking forward to a courtyard room with chinese decor. Not that I penalized hotel for it since it was written clearly in the room description prior booking.
    This is a remodeled siheyuan in the hutong close to Houhai and QianHai. Subway station is walkable distance away and love the idea of giving out free Shadow Art Performances Tickets. It makes us learnt more about chinese traditional arts which is a wonderful experience. If your time is abundant, one can even take part in dumpling making or Taichi class. Sandalwood Boutique provide an adequate environment to enjoy the simplicity of olden times without the rustic feel to it. Not to mention a daily hearty breakfast will be served in the air conditioned courtyard.
    Stefan
    ie
    10
    7 November 2017
    very friendly staff, clean room and nice bathroom, location is superb for people who wanna experience the real Beijing, you get a choice of continental or Chinese breakfast every morning!
    JUNMIN
    au
    10
    4 November 2017
    Very pleasant stay. Highly recommend.
    The room was very nice and luxurious. Unbelievable transformation of a traditional courtyard house. Beyond 5 star hotel luxury. Staff was very helpful and nice too.
    Dean Bourne
    gb
    10
    29 October 2017
    Truly the best place to stay in Beijing
    The best place that we have stayed in CHINA! Joanna, Seven and Cariie really made us feel like we belonged to the community. Amazing work guys, we will be back to stay with you again for sure. Oh and make sure you try their food it's delicious:-)
    Samuel
    ch
    10
    15 October 2017
    Everything perfect! Very friendly and competent staff, beautiful Hutong house. Especially the Chinese Breakfast was awesome: every morning something different, beautifully arranged on a plate brought to your table. Will go there again and not even bother to search for other hotels in Beijing.
    Ruiwei
    au
    9.2
    13 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Pierre-Luc Aube
    ca
    10
    30 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Leonhard
    at
    8.8
    23 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    David
    au
    10
    11 September 2017
    Lovely ambience, very comfortable, great location, very helpful staff
    Nothing!
    We loved staying in a small historic hotel furnished with beautiful antique [or reproduction?] furniture - a very intimate personal feeling reinforced by the very personal and kind support from the English speaking staff [2] on reception. We felt more like family guests than foreign visitors in a hotel.
    Nedine
    au
    9.6
    2 August 2017
    Good
    Nothing really, the 300 cyn room deposit when you are paying over 500 for a room.
    The room was a good size, staff very helpful
Loading reviews
Close