Reviews

9.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
9.2
Property location
9.1
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.6
Value
8.8

Reviews

    FREDERIC
    fr

    Review score

    8.3
    18 June 2018
    Unfortunately, our bathroom was infested by fleas during our stay. The staff made all possible to treat this, but with no sucess. An other room was proposed, but we refused it because there was no windows to the outside and I'm not so fond of the airconditionning. Anyway, the Sandalwood was a great and I do not regret my choice.
    The sandalwood is a wonderfull experience : the combinaison of modernity and chinese antiques is delightful, the ambiance is quiet and relaxing. Breakfast is very good, specialy if you try the chinese meal. The staff is very polite and helpfull. Excellent point also : it's about 7 minutes walk to the nearest subway station, and close to Houhai park.
    James
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    17 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jessica
    us

    Review score

    10
    14 June 2018

    Shichihai was a great location: parks, shopping, sightseeing, and great food!

    There was an unexpected charge for the room. It would be more up front if they just added this into the Booking.com price, rather than surprise you when you get there.
    The staff was super friendly and helpful! I loved the activities they provided: dumpling class, tai chi class, and offered tours.
    Bernd
    de

    Review score

    10
    2 June 2018

    Nice and special hotel with little extras

    Great location when you like to experience the Hutong live. Special events included every evening. The rooms are clean and comfy. Really a recommendation.
    Corinne
    de

    Review score

    8.3
    2 June 2018
    The beds. My husband and I had a great stay at this hotel but the beds, oh dear. Bed of nails, sleeping on the floor...both would have been a close similarity to the “firmness” of the bed (I’m really trying to be kind here). On the upside, he’s never been able to sleep on a plane and slept soundly on our home bound flight so maybe being able to sleep on a slightly weathered plane seat was the prize after having trained on the bed of concrete.
    We arrived very early in the morning and the the staff were extremely accommodating. They offered us something to eat and drink and were even apologetic that our room wouldn’t be ready until 10am. After a walk around the Hutongs we were greeted by a lovely room. We had booked a room that had no window, obviously a little skeptical but reading the good reviews we decided to stay there anyway... so glad we did. This hotel is truly a little gem.
    Joanne
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    24 May 2018

    Good accommodation makes a pleasant trip!

    Would be good to have toilet bidet spray :)
    Breakfast changes daily for guests to sample the local fare. Bed is very comfy. Ensuite bathroom is big. Friendly and helpful staff provides assistance in every possible way they could. Service is better than 5-star hotel!
    George
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    18 May 2018

    Overall a fantastic hotel

    S1monFrom Bal1
    id

    Review score

    8.8
    16 May 2018

    Not quite the ideal location but a great stay.

    It is not really in a pretty area of the hutongs nor is it really in Shichahai as far as we could see. It is around 15 min walk away but on a humid smoggy day that is a long walk! We were in room 1 which is by reception and both mornings we were disturbed by checking out guests departing.
    Other than its location by reception room 1 is Amazing. Beautiful and very comfortable and from what we saw a little larger than the others. Everything we wanted, an atmospheric chinese room with comfortable bed. Breakfast was great. Staff kind and helpful.
    Farah
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    13 May 2018

    Beautiful hotel in convenient location.

    Very nice staff, good location, good breakfast and interesting architecture.
    Piotr
    pl

    Review score

    7.9
    7 May 2018

    Great

    The rooms could be better cleaned - it blows the stone floors in the bathroom.
    Very good location in the center of Beijing. Tasty breakfasts and the atmosphere of Chinese decor. Comfortable and spacious family rooms.
    sg traveler
    in

    Review score

    10
    7 May 2018

    Enjoyed my stay, the room was very quaint and comfortable and meals in the courtyard were enjoyable!

    Lovely ambiance set in a hutong. Very convenient getting to the train station and the walk to the station via a food street is an interesting sight. Staff were very helpful and attentive as well. 5 star stay!
    yong hui
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    28 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ee

    Review score

    10
    18 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    David
    gb

    Review score

    10
    7 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Michaela Brudnova
    cz

    Review score

    9.2
    17 March 2018
    Location bit hard to find; as long as it is cultural heritage building the rooms are not sound proof and you could here everything when insidr
    Wonderfull boutique hotel in old hutong; friendly staff; nice tea ceremonies; incredible tranquil and romantic place. In a future will come back for sure
    cn

    Review score

    10
    14 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Julie
    gb

    Review score

    10
    14 February 2018

    Relaxing oasis in the heart of Beijing.

    I usually stay in a 4-5 star large hotel but wanted something smaller, different and more traditional but still with the luxury touches. This Hotel ticked all the right boxes and I’m so pleased I stayed here.
    Christine
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    12 February 2018

    Excellent hotel for a short gateaway!

    The shower can be a bit cleaner
    Friendly Staffs, accommodating, packed our breakfast as we had an early start. The room was comfortable and warm. Staffs speaks english really well.
    JOSE
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    13 June 2018

    Beautiful, quiet place in Beijing and excellent staff!

    Everything was good, nothing negative to say.
    Beautiful place and excellent staff. Always very attentive and helpful. They fixed all my trips in Beijing. I had an excellent time. Thank you very much!! Breakfast was delicious!
    Tiffany
    us

    Review score

    10
    1 May 2018
    Nothing
    We had the cutest authentic Chinese style room which was cozy yet spacious. Bathroom was nice and modern. And food was pretty good. We had such an early morning flight and woke up late that we left several items of clothing which Carrie was more than willing to express ship to my house for $100 USD. Thank you again Carrie!
Loading reviews